giovedì 9 aprile 2020

Panini Campeonato Uruguayo 2000

Copa Coca-Cola 2000 is the first official sticker collection of the Uruguayan league produced by Panini. More albums were released in the following years: Futbol Uruguayo 2001 and 2002, Apertura 2005 (pocket album), Apertura 2007, Clausura 2008, and Apertura 2009.
The Uruguayan championship 2000 was divided in an Apertura tournament from March to July (won by Nacional) and a Clausura tournament from August to November (won by Penarol). A two-leg final was played at the Centenario stadium of Montevideo in December 2000 and Nacional won the title defeating Penarol (1-0 and 1-1).
The album Coca-Cola 2000 shows the 17 clubs of Primera Division in alphabetical order. Each club is displaced over four pages with a total of 19 stickers. The first page is odd, showing just a large photo of the captain. The club is presented in the second page, with the team photo (two stickers) and the shiny club badge sticker. The remaining two pages include 16 stickers of players in action. There is no other section with stickers. The album includes only a table of contents, a foreword and the schedule of the season at the end of the album.

back cover of the album

Sealed packet Panini Copa Coca-Cola 2000

Ernesto Chevanton and Guillermo Giacomazzi spent most of their successful career in Lecce (Italy), where they moved in 2001. Chevanton played also for Monaco, Sevilla and Atalanta. 

Fabian Carini and Gonzalo Sorondo had both a brief experience in Inter (Italy) where they totalized 4 and 11 appearances, respectively.

Two famous strikers of this collection. Ruben Oliveira moved to Juventus in 2003, where he won the Serie A title and totalized 22 appearances and 4 goals. Ruben Sosa played brilliantly for Lazio (40 goals) and Inter (44 goals), between 1988 and 1995.  

Shiny club badge stickers of Danubio and Liverpool

The winners of the Apertura (Club Nacional) and Clausura (Penarol) tournaments 2000

Album details:
Full name: Copa Coca-Cola 2000
Publisher: Panini
League: Uruguay (Primera Division)
Season: 2000
Number of clubs: 17
Stickers per club: 19
Other sections with stickers: No
Checklist: click here

Total number of sticker: 323

martedì 7 aprile 2020

Panini Cesky Fotbal 1999

The Czech main division in 1998-1999 was named Gambrinus Liga and it was contested by 16 clubs. The title owner Sparta Praha won the title totalizing 60 points, five more than Teplice and Slavia Praha. They could count on 18 goals of the topscorer Horst Siegl.
For the third and last year Panini produced an album of the Czech league, called Cesky Fotbol 1999, which comes after the editions 1997 and 1998. The album opens with the schedule of the season and an introduction of three pages dedicated to the Czech National Team. In 1999, Czech Republic had representative International players like Nedved (Lazio), Poborsky (Benfica) and Berger (Liverpool). They got a great result in the Euro Cup 1996, reaching the final. This section includes the team photo composed by four stickers, the National Federation logo (shiny sticker) and 16 players. The album continues with the presentation of the 16 Czech clubs in alphabetical order. For each club there are 19 stickers over three pages: the shiny badge, the team (two stickers), and 16 players. These pages include also the club main results and the career of each player. 

The shiny sticker of the Czech Federation logo and the most representative player in 1999, Pavel Nedved (Lazio, Juventus) 

Poborsky (ex Manchester United, Benfica, Lazio) and Patrik Berger (ex Borussia Dortmund, Liverpool, Aston Villa)

 Slavia Praha badge and player sticker (Tomas Kucera)

Jiri and Pavel Novotny

Amazing shiny badge stickers of Cesky Fotbal 1999

Album details
Full name: Cesky Fotbal 1999
Publisher: Panini
League: Czech Republic (Gambrinus Liga)
Season: 1998-1999
Number of clubs: 16
Stickers per club: 19
Other sections: Czech National Team (21 stickers)
Checklist: click here

Total number of stickers: 325