mercoledì 19 marzo 2014

Panini Sprint 2010

Panini Sprint is a collection about professional cycling that was popular in the 70's. After 30 years, Panini published a new successfull edition (Panini Sprint 2009) that became regular every season (until present, the last edition is Panini Sprint 2013). 
Panini Sprint 2010 was published for the Belgian market and therefore it contains texts in the two official languages of the country (Dutch and French).
The album opens with the table of contents and then it continues showing the 24 Professional Cycling teams included in the album. Teams are showed in alphabetical order: AG2R, Astana, BMC, Caisse d'Epargne, Cervélo, Cofidis, Euskaltel, Footon, Garmin, HTC, Katusha, Lampre, Lambouwkrediet, Liquigas, Milram, Omega, Quick Step, Rabobank, Radioshack, Saxo Bank, Skil, Sky, Topsport Vlaanderen, and Vacansoleil.
Each team is displayed on two pages and features 17 stickers: the team photo, the jersey (shining sticker) and 15 athletes. 

After the teams, there is a section dedicated to the old champion Eddy Merckx, who turned 65. His great career is resumed with 12 stickers on two pages. 
The album ends with a page about Cyclo-cross (very popular sport in Belgium). Seven stickers with the main athletes are included: Stybar, Albert, Nys, Vantornout, Pauwels, Wellens, and Peeters.

In Panini Sprint 2010 we can find the stickers of the main protagonists of the season. 
The Tour de France was initially won by Alberto Contador, who was later revealed having failed a doping test and Andy Schleck was declared the new winner. Ivan Basso won the Giro d'Italia and Vincenzo Nibali the Vuelta Espana. Thor Hushovd won the World Championship, held in Melbourne.

Here we show some of the main stickers:

Cadel Evans wears the World Champion jersey, won in 2009

Alessandro Ballan, World Champion in 2008

Cavendish won 5 stages in Tour de France 2010

Pippo Pozzato winner of one stage of Giro d'Italia 2010

Vincenzo Nibali won the Vuelta Espana 2010

The young talent Peter Sagan

For Tom Boonen, 2010 was not a very good season

For Lance Armstrong, 2010 was the last of his career.
The doping scandal exploded few months later.

Cancellara won in 2010 the Paris-Roubaix, the Tour of Flanders 
and the Time Trial at the World Championship.

Bradley Wiggins impressed as a potential winner of Tour de France, who got in 2012

Album Details
Full name: Sprint 2010
Publisher: Panini
Sport: Cycling
League: UCI professional teams
Number of teams: 24
Stickers per team: 17
Special section: - Eddy Merckx (12 stickers)
                          - Cyclo-Cross (7 stickers)

Total number of stickers: 427

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento